PRSA Hawaii Announces 2011 Board of Directors

HONOLULU, HAWAI‘I – The Hawai‘i Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) announced the election of the following officers for its 2011 board
of directors:

  • President Moani Wright-Van Alst, Communications Resource Manager, Hawaii Medical Service Association
  • President-Elect, Melissa Malahoff-Kamei, Senior Account Executive, McNeil Wilson Communications
  • Secretary Deborah Sharkey, Director, Makana Communications
  • Treasurer Kristen Bonilla, APR, Public Information Officer, University of Hawai‘i
  • Immediate Past President Nathan Kam, Vice President, McNeil Wilson Communications
  • Assembly Delegate and Western District Delegate Duke Gonzales, APR, Corporate Communications Specialist, U.S. Postal Service
  • Director of Outreach Nancy Daniels, APR, Director of Public Relations, Outrigger Enterprise Group
  • Director of Member Services Rebecca Pang, Account Supervisor, McNeil Wilson Communications
  • Director of Professional Development Lee Britos, Senior Account Executive, Pang Communications
  • Director of Communications Noreen Kam, Account Supervisor, McNeil Wilson Communications


Other committee chairs announced are as follows:



Franziska Roessy, Account Coordinator, Stryker Weiner & Yokota

Erica Yamauchi, Account Executive, Becker Communications



Donda D. Spiker, APR, Manager, Marketing and Public Relations, Kuakini Medical Center


Young Professionals Group (YPR) Chair

Thi Lam, Marketing Coordinator, Watts Constructors, LLC


Amy Hennessey, APR, Manager, Foundation Communications, Hawai‘i Pacific Health


Education, Hawai‘i Pacific University Chair

Nancy Daniels, APR, Director of Public Relations, Outrigger Enterprises Group


Crystal Yamasaki, Senior Account Executive, Bennet Group Strategic Communications

Jill Bona, Account Manager, Bennet Group Strategic Communications



Huy Vo, Senior Account Executive, Bright Light Marketing

Shauna Goya, Senior Account Executive, Communications Pacific


Sponsorship Chair

Nathan Kam, Vice President, McNeil Wilson Communications


PRSA Hawai‘i, chartered in 1947, was one of six founding chapters of PRSA. The society is the world’s largest organization for public relations professionals, with nearly 20,000 members representing business and industry, counseling firms, government, associations, hospitals, schools, professional services firms, and not-for-profit organizations.


The APR designation after board members’ names indicates an Accreditation in Public Relations by PRSA’s Universal Accreditation Board. According to PRSA, APR is a mark of distinction for public relations professionals who demonstrate their commitment to the public relations profession and its ethical practice, and who are selected based on broad knowledge, strategic prospective and sound professional judgment.


# # #