PRSA Hawaii Accepting Entries for 28th Annual Koa Anvil Awards

The Hawai‘i Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) is now accepting entries for the 28th annual Koa Anvil awards, recognizing outstanding public relations programs and tactics completed in 2010. Winners will be recognized at the 28th Annual Koa Anvil Awards dinner on Thursday, July 28, 2011, at the Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki Resort and Golf Club.

Important dates for the 2011 Koa Anvil Awards are:

• April 15, 5 p.m.  – Early Bird Deadline

o Save $25 on the awards entry fee! – $50 for PRSA Hawai‘i members and $75 for non-member

• April 29, 5 p.m. – Final Deadline

o $75 for PRSA Hawai‘i members and $100 for non-members

Koa Anvil Awards categories include:

Koa Anvil Awards – Complete public relations programs incorporating sound research, planning, execution and evaluation. All Koa Anvil winners are automatically considered for the Best of Show Award, representing the finest example of public relations programming in 2010.
Koa Hammer Awards – Outstanding public relations tactics that are part of a communications campaign, including research and writing

Nominations are also being accepted for two individual recognition awards, the Gregg W. Perry Public Relations Professional of the Year and the Hokupa‘a Young Public Relations Professional of the Year Awards.

The Gregg W. Perry Public Relations Professional of the Year
honors an exemplary practitioner who, during a distinguished career, has made a major contribution to the profession and has applied public relations techniques in a professional manner to achieve meaningful objectives. Previous recipients include Donda Spiker, APR, Kuakini Medical Center; Nancy Daniels, APR, Outrigger Enterprises Group; Nathan Hokama, Strategic Communication Solutions, LLC; Sara Foley, Maui Communicators; and Melissa Chang, APR among others.

The Hokupa‘a Award, named after the North Star, is symbolic of a guiding force that always provides leadership to peers in the profession. This award recognizes a relative newcomer to public relations for demonstrating exceptional leadership potential and achievement in his/her initial years in the profession. Recent recipients include Michael Ni, formerly of McNeil Wilson Communications; Moani Wright-Van Alst, Hawaii Medical Services Association; Rebecca Pang, McNeil Wilson Communications; and Melissa Malahoff-Kamei, McNeil Wilson Communications among others.

Any individual may nominate a candidate for the award, but nominees must be PRSA Hawai‘i members. There are no entry fees for the nominations. Deadline for submission is April 15, 2011 and the winners will be announced as part of the Koa Anvil Awards ceremony.

The award categories, rules, entry and nomination forms can be viewed or downloaded at For more information about the Koa Anvil Awards, please contact the Koa Anvil Committee at

All completed entries and nominations must be mailed or delivered to:

PRSA Hawaii Chapter Awards Committee
c/o Huy Vo
Bright Light Marketing
1001 Bishop St., Suite 900
Honolulu, HI 96813
(808) 275-3014

PRSA Hawai‘i, chartered in 1947, was one of six founding chapters of PRSA. The society is the world’s largest organization for public relations professionals, with nearly 20,000 members representing business and industry, counseling firms, government, associations, hospitals, schools, professional services firms, and not-for-profit organizations.

# # #