Hokupa‘a Award

The Hokupa‘a Award, named after the North Star, is symbolic of a guiding force that always provides leadership to peers in the profession. This award recognizes a relative newcomer to public relations for demonstrating exceptional leadership potential and achievement in his/her initial years in the profession.

The nominee must have two to five years experience in public relations, excluding internships or part-time employment while working on a degree; and demonstrate professionalism, community service, public relations accomplishments and leadership skills.

Method of Nomination

Any individual may nominate a candidate for the award, but nominees MUST be PRSA Hawai‘i members. There are no entry fees for the nominations. The award is presented as a part of the annual Koa Anvil Awards ceremony.


To nominate a candidate for the 2018 Hokupa’a Young Public Relations Professional of the Year Award, please download the nomination form.

In 2017, we were proud to honor Michelle Hee of Anthology Marketing Group.

Past Awardees

2016 – Hilary Bingman
2015 – Andrea “Anj” Lum
2014 – Kira Chong Tim
2013 – David Pettinger
2012 – Lisette Gonzalez
2011 – Huy Vo
2009 – Michael Ni
2008 – Moani Wright-Van Alst
2007 – Rebecca Pang
2006 – Melissa Malahoff-Kamei
2005 – Song Choi
2004 – Tina McNealey
2003 – Kristen Bonilla
2002 – Amy Hennessey
2001 – Michelle Busbee