PRSA Hawaii Honors Industry’s Best at 32nd Annual Koa Anvil Awards

Record 94 Awards Given Out Recognizing the Best of Hawaii’s Public Relations Professionals, Campaigns and Tactics

HONOLULU – The Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) Hawaii Chapter recognized the state’s top communications professionals, campaigns and tactics last night at the 32nd Annual Koa Anvil Awards, held at The Modern Honolulu. Nearly 200 people attended the gala, where a total of 94 awards were handed out—the most ever in the chapter’s history.

More than 150 entries were submitted this year. Awards were given in two main categories: Koa Anvil Awards for outstanding public relations programs and campaigns, and Koa Hammer Awards for tactics that are part of a communications campaign.

Becker Communications received the top score for the agency’s work on the 73rd Annual Pearl Harbor Commemoration Ceremony, earning the coveted “Best of Show” award that evening.

Bennet Group Strategic Communications took home the most awards with a total of 20, followed by Castle Medical Center with 18, Stryker Weiner & Yokota Public Relations with 15, Anthology Marketing Group with 11, Becker Communications with seven and Olomana Loomis ISC with five.

PRSA Hawaii also honored industry leaders and recognized up-and-coming talent within the public relations field:

Linda Howe, APR, manager – community relations at Matson, received the Gregg W. Perry Public Relations Professional of the Year Award, recognizing her more than 30 years of service in Hawaii’s public relations industry and for her professional accomplishments.

Andrea Lum, director at Bennet Group Strategic Communications, received the Hokupa‘a Young Public Relations Professional of the Year Award, recognizing her as a relative newcomer to the field of public relations, and for demonstrating exceptional leadership potential and achievement in her initial years in the profession.

Huy Vo, public relations manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, received the President’s Leadership Award for his significant contributions to the success of the public relations profession in Hawaii.

Established in 1983, the Koa Anvil Awards captures and celebrates the four rings of excellence for which the Koa Anvil competition is judged: research, planning, execution and evaluation. It is a competition to develop better plans, use creativity to produce better results, increase professional skill to produce the best public relations programs and tools that keep the professional motivated and moving forward.

For a complete list of winners, click here: Koa Anvil Awards – Winners By Categories – 2015.

About PRSA Hawaii PRSA Hawaii, chartered in 1947, is one of six founding chapters of PRSA. Committed to advancing the standards of the public relations profession, the chapter’s mission is to build value, understanding, and the demand or public relations professionals in Hawai‘i. The society is the world’s largest organization of public relations professionals, with nearly 20,000 members representing business and industry, counseling firms, government, associations, hospitals, schools, professional services firms and not-forprofit organizations. For more information, visit