PRSA Hawaii Introduces 2014 Leadership Team

HONOLULU – The Hawaii Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) today announced its 2014 Board of Directors. The board will provide leadership for the chapter and its membership of local public relations professionals, working to support the PR industry in Hawaii.

“For nearly 70 years, PRSA Hawaii has worked to advance the public relations profession in Hawaii, supporting students and young practitioners through professional development, student mentorship and networking opportunities,” said Huy Vo, PRSA Hawaii president. “Our 2014 board of directors are public relations professionals from across the state representing different companies and organizations, and together we look forward to continuing to build value, understanding and aloha for our industry.”

PRSA Hawaii named the following officers on its 2014 Board of Directors:

  • President: Huy Vo, senior specialist – public relations, Hawaiian Airlines
  • President-Elect: Erica Yamauchi, social marketing director, Project Kealahou
  • Immediate Past President: Rebecca Pang, senior account supervisor, McNeil Wilson Communications
  • Secretary: Nicky Leong, specialist -internal communications, Hawaiian Airlines
  • Treasurer: Darlene Morikawa, director of public relations, Hawaii Visitors and Convention Bureau
  • Communications: Monica Salter, senior vice president, Bennet Group Strategic Communications
  • Koa Anvil Awards: Andrea Lum, senior account manager, Bennet Group Strategic Communications, and Lynn Shizumura, account executive, McNeil Wilson Communications
  • Programs: David Pettinger, senior account executive, McNeil Wilson Communications
  • Membership: Melissa Kim, Box Jelly LLC
  • Education: Amy Hennessey, APR, director of communications, Ulupono Initiative and Rob Deveraturda, public relations specialist, Hawaii Energy
  • Assembly Delegate and Accreditation: Kristen Bonilla, APR, communications manager, Hawaii Pacific Health
  • Assembly and Western District Delegate: Duke Gonzalez, APR, corporate communications specialist, U.S. Postal Service
  • Maui Affinity Group: Christina Yumul, founder and president, Storieology



PRSA Hawaii, chartered in 1947, was one of six founding chapters of PRSA. The society is the world’s largest organization for public relations professionals, with nearly 20,000 members representing business and industry, counseling firms, government, associations, hospitals, schools, professional services firms, and not-for-profit organizations.

The APR designation after board members’ names indicates an Accreditation in Public Relations by PRSA’s Universal Accreditation Board. According to PRSA, APR is a mark of distinction for public relations professionals who demonstrate their commitment to the public relations profession and its ethical practice, and who are selected based on broad knowledge, strategic prospective and sound professional judgment.

# # #