PRSA Hawaii Honors Industry’s Best at 29th Annual Koa Anvil Awards

HONOLULU – The Public Relations Society of America Hawaii Chapter (PRSA Hawaii) recognized the top 75 public relations campaigns and tactics of 2011 and honored three industry leaders at the 29th annual Koa Anvil Awards dinner at the Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki and Golf Club.

Awards were given in two main categories:

Koa Anvil Awards – Complete public relations programs incorporating sound research, planning, execution and evaluation
Koa Hammer Awards – Outstanding public relations tactics that are part of a communications campaign, including research and writing
Thirty-seven PR professionals received Koa Anvil awards and 38 received Koa Hammers. The Bennet Group’s Monica Salter received the highest Anvil score and earned the coveted “Best of Show” award for her work on reputation and brand management with Hale Ka Lae.

“Each year, the Koa Anvil Awards showcase our industry’s best and brightest,” said PRSA Hawaii President Melissa Malahoff-Kamei. “We have so many talented public relations professionals in Hawaii. We’re proud to highlight their accomplishments and encourage continued excellence in our industry.”

PRSA Hawaii also recognized three individuals with its Gregg W. Perry Public Relations Professional of the Year Award, Hokupaa Award and President’s Leadership Award.

The Gregg W. Perry Public Relations Professional of the Year award honors an exemplary practitioner who has made a major contribution to the profession. This year’s recipient is Amy Hennessey, APR, director of communications, Ulupono Initiative.
The Hokupaa Award recognizes a relative newcomer to public relations for demonstrating exceptional leadership potential and achievement in his/her initial years in the profession. This year’s recipient is Lisette Gonzalez, account executive, Becker Communications.
The President’s Leadership Award recognizes an individual or organization that has made significant contributions to the success of the chapter and the profession. PRSA Hawaii Chapter President Melissa Malahoff-Kamei recognized B.J. Whitman, APR, Fellow, principal, BJW Public Relations, as this year’s winner.
University of Puget Sound senior Chelsea Tsuchida received the PRSA Hawaii/Roy Leffingwell Scholarship award of $1,000.

For a complete list of winners, visit our Awards section. Click here to see photos from the event, courtesy of Dallas Nagata White Photography.

PRSA Hawaii, chartered in 1947, is one of six founding chapters of PRSA. The society is the world’s largest organization of public relations professionals, with nearly 20,000 members representing business and industry, counseling firms, government, associations, hospitals, schools, professional services firms and not-for-profit organizations.

# # #

Join PRSA Hawaii this summer and SAVE $50



Join PRSA in July and August and receive a free Hawaii Chapter membership

New members will receive a free 1-year Hawaii Chapter Membership, a $50 value, when they join PRSA as a Regular member ($255 annual dues+$65 initiation fee)

Why join?
As a PRSA Hawaii member, you’ll be part of a robust community of PR professionals in Hawaii and beyond. Opportunities to network, access to free national webinars, notices about local and national job openings, discounted rates to our monthly professional development programs, and more will be among your PRSA Hawaii benefits.

Visit for more information and to sign up!

Use promo code SUMMER12
Valid through August 31, 2012
Not available for Associate or current members

For more information on your membership benefits, contact