Be a Leader! PRSA Looks to Fill its National Board of Directors and Assembly

PRSA is searching for a few accomplished, dedicated leaders to serve on its National Board of Directors and in the Assembly. Serving as a national leader for PRSA is an exciting and unique opportunity to:

* Guide the world’s largest organization of public relations professionals;
* Shape the future of the profession;
* Be recognized for your accomplishments; and
* Have fun while making friends and meting new colleagues from across the country.

The positions are open to all interested and qualified candidates. The submission deadline for applications is Monday, June, 13, 2011. Click here to learn about the required skill set and click here to learn about the nomination timeline.

Available positions for the PRSA National Board of Directors are:

* Chair- and CEO-elect
* Treasurer
* Secretary
* Director, North Pacific District (two-year term)
* Director, Southeast District (two-year term)
* Director, Southwest District (two-year term)
* Director-at-Large (one open position) (two-year term)

Eligible Board candidates must hold the Accredited in Public Relations (APR) certification and be PRSA members in good standing who have served in at least one of the following capacities:

* Chair of a national committee;
* Chapter president;
* District chair;
* Section chair;
* Voting delegate in at least one national PRSA Assembly; or
* Have practiced for at least 20 years in the profession with increasing levels of responsibility.

In addition to the seven open national Board positions, the Nominating Committee is seeking to fill the following Assembly delegate positions:

* Two Assembly delegates-at-large, and
* Two International delegates-at-large.

The delegates-at-large represents PRSA members who do not reside in an area served by a Chapter. The International delegates-at-large represent PRSA members residing outside the United States and Canada. The delegates-at-large positions are one-year terms. As a minimum requirement, all delegates, with the exception of the International delegates-at-large, shall either be Accredited or a current board member of their respective chapters, districts or sections.

More details about application procedures are available on the PRSA website, which interested candidates should review carefully.

You can obtain additional Information and have your questions answered by current PRSA leaders on special teleconferences set up for your benefit. On the calls will be PRSA Chair & CEO Rosanna M. Fiske, APR; chair and CEO-elect Gerard F. Corbett, APR, Fellow PRSA; immediate past chair & CEO Gary D. McCormick, APR, Fellow PRSA; and PRSA President & COO William Murray. These calls have been scheduled for two different dates and times to accommodate your schedule – simply dial in and participate on the call that is most convenient for you:

Wednesday, April 13, 2011
12-1 p.m. (EDT) and 4-5 p.m. (EDT)
Monday, May 16, 2011
12-1 p.m. (EDT) and 4-5 p.m. (EDT)
Domestic dial-in number: 888-604-4215
Participant Code: 48258880#

Your involvement in PRSA makes you a role model for future PRSA leaders and has helped improve the quality and variety of programs we provide our members. Please consider continuing that commitment by becoming a candidate for our 2011 national leadership team or by helping us recruit other leaders.

For questions about the nomination process, contact Donna Jonas at PRSA headquarters at (212) 460-1403 For questions about recruitment, contact Michael G. Cherenson, APR, 2011 PRSA Nominating Committee chair, at

PRSA Hawaii Accepting Entries for 28th Annual Koa Anvil Awards

The Hawai‘i Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) is now accepting entries for the 28th annual Koa Anvil awards, recognizing outstanding public relations programs and tactics completed in 2010. Winners will be recognized at the 28th Annual Koa Anvil Awards dinner on Thursday, July 28, 2011, at the Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki Resort and Golf Club.

Important dates for the 2011 Koa Anvil Awards are:

• April 15, 5 p.m.  – Early Bird Deadline

o Save $25 on the awards entry fee! – $50 for PRSA Hawai‘i members and $75 for non-member

• April 29, 5 p.m. – Final Deadline

o $75 for PRSA Hawai‘i members and $100 for non-members

Koa Anvil Awards categories include:

Koa Anvil Awards – Complete public relations programs incorporating sound research, planning, execution and evaluation. All Koa Anvil winners are automatically considered for the Best of Show Award, representing the finest example of public relations programming in 2010.
Koa Hammer Awards – Outstanding public relations tactics that are part of a communications campaign, including research and writing

Nominations are also being accepted for two individual recognition awards, the Gregg W. Perry Public Relations Professional of the Year and the Hokupa‘a Young Public Relations Professional of the Year Awards.

The Gregg W. Perry Public Relations Professional of the Year
honors an exemplary practitioner who, during a distinguished career, has made a major contribution to the profession and has applied public relations techniques in a professional manner to achieve meaningful objectives. Previous recipients include Donda Spiker, APR, Kuakini Medical Center; Nancy Daniels, APR, Outrigger Enterprises Group; Nathan Hokama, Strategic Communication Solutions, LLC; Sara Foley, Maui Communicators; and Melissa Chang, APR among others.

The Hokupa‘a Award, named after the North Star, is symbolic of a guiding force that always provides leadership to peers in the profession. This award recognizes a relative newcomer to public relations for demonstrating exceptional leadership potential and achievement in his/her initial years in the profession. Recent recipients include Michael Ni, formerly of McNeil Wilson Communications; Moani Wright-Van Alst, Hawaii Medical Services Association; Rebecca Pang, McNeil Wilson Communications; and Melissa Malahoff-Kamei, McNeil Wilson Communications among others.

Any individual may nominate a candidate for the award, but nominees must be PRSA Hawai‘i members. There are no entry fees for the nominations. Deadline for submission is April 15, 2011 and the winners will be announced as part of the Koa Anvil Awards ceremony.

The award categories, rules, entry and nomination forms can be viewed or downloaded at For more information about the Koa Anvil Awards, please contact the Koa Anvil Committee at

All completed entries and nominations must be mailed or delivered to:

PRSA Hawaii Chapter Awards Committee
c/o Huy Vo
Bright Light Marketing
1001 Bishop St., Suite 900
Honolulu, HI 96813
(808) 275-3014

PRSA Hawai‘i, chartered in 1947, was one of six founding chapters of PRSA. The society is the world’s largest organization for public relations professionals, with nearly 20,000 members representing business and industry, counseling firms, government, associations, hospitals, schools, professional services firms, and not-for-profit organizations.

# # #