PRSA Hawaii Accepting Entries For Its 27th Annual Koa Anvil Public Relations Awards

March 4, 2010

Save $25 when Submitting Entries by April 16th Early Bird Deadline

HONOLULU, HAWAII – The Hawaii Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) is now accepting entries for outstanding public relations programs and tactics completed in 2009. Winners will be recognized at the 27th Annual Koa Anvil Awards dinner on Thursday, July 22, 2010, at the Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki Resort and Golf Club.

Important dates for the 2010 Koa Anvil Awards are:

  • April 16, 5:00 p.m. – Early Bird Deadline
    • Save $25 on the awards entry fee! ($50 for PRSA Hawai‘i members and $75 for non-members)
  • April 30, 5:00 p.m. – Final Deadline
    • $75 for PRSA Hawai‘i members and $100 for non-members

Koa Anvil Awards categories include:

  • Koa Anvil Awards – Complete public relations programs incorporating sound research, planning, execution and evaluation
  • Koa Hammer Awards – Outstanding public relations tactics that are part of a communications campaign, including research and writing

Nominations are also being accepted for two individual recognition awards, the Gregg W. Perry Public Relations Professional of the Year and the Hokupaa Awards.

The Gregg W. Perry Public Relations Professional of the Year honors an exemplary practitioner who, during a distinguished career, has made a major contribution to the profession and has applied public relations techniques in a professional manner to achieve meaningful objectives. Previous recipients include Nancy Daniels, APR; Nathan Hokama; Sara Foley and Melissa Chang, APR; among others.

The Hokupaa Award, named after the North Star, is symbolic of a guiding force that always provides leadership to peers in the profession. This award recognizes a relative newcomer to public relations for demonstrating exceptional leadership potential and achievement in his/her initial years in the profession. Recent recipients include Michael Ni, former of McNeil Wilson Communications; Moani Wright-Van Alst, Honolulu Board of Water Supply; Rebecca Pang, Stryker Weiner and Yokota Public Relations; and Melissa Malahoff-Kamei, McNeil Wilson Communications.

Any individual may nominate a candidate for the award, but nominees should be PRSA Hawai‘i members. There are no entry fees for the nominations. Deadline for submission is April 16, 2010 and the winners will be announced as part of the Koa Anvil Awards ceremony.

The award categories, rules, and entry forms can be viewed or downloaded at For more information about the Koa Anvil Awards, please contact the Koa Anvil Committee at

PRSA Hawaii, chartered in 1947, was one of six founding chapters of PRSA. The society is the world’s largest organization for public relations professionals, with nearly 20,000 members representing business and industry, counseling firms, government, associations, hospitals, schools, professional services firms, and not-for-profit organizations.

# # #

Media Contact:
Noreen Kam
McNeil Wilson Communications, Inc.
(808) 539-3422